Strong Feelings

Another random blog post. This one is about something I feel strongly about. For me, that something is the mistreatment of animals.

When I was young, I grew up living with my mother, Mary. My mother was… well, she wasn’t a nice person. As I got older, I noticed more and more the things she did that were not right. Most particularly, I noticed how she treated animals. When it came to our pets, she was on one level good and one level bad. The little dogs we had when I was in my preteens were safe enough. She took good care of those dogs. However, when I was little, about five or so, my mother trapped our two larger dogs in the basement of our house and burned the house down around them. Those dogs… well, they ended up traumatized and ended up being put down due to how they had been treated. I watched her take a hammer to the side of my brother’s large breed dog while he was home laid up due to an accident. She drowned the kittens that my female cat had, and ditched another kitten in the woods. Needless to say she wasn’t a nice person.

I also witnessed abuse to animals when I lived with my ex in-laws. They tied their dogs out day and night, warm weather and freezing. They kicked their dogs, beat them. The goats that they had decided to get got a lot of beatings too, because they refused to take care of them properly by getting them neutered and wondered why the goat tried to ram them. They shot BB guns at their cats, threw their cats out the second story window into the small pond in the front yard, and were just all around terrible people to their animals.

A lot of times, when people are growing up around this kind of behavior, they grow up one of two ways. They either grow up mirroring the behaviors they see–in this case, they grow up to be animal abusers– or they grow up in the complete opposite manner. I grew up swearing that I would never treat my animals the way I witnessed the people around me treating their animals. I work as a foster home for the local animal shelter, I make donations, and my animals are spoiled beyond belief. I refuse to be like the people I saw growing up.

I plan on running a rescue at some point in my life, once I am more set up to do so. I want to be able to rescue abused and neglected animals, help them find their forever homes or give them a final home to live the rest of their lives in if they are in no condition to be rehomed. Eventually I will have a barn and kennels and the property and housing to do this. In the meantime, I help the shelter, I post articles for people to read about how to feed, care for, and train their animals, as well as share articles about the wild animals around us that are affected by our choices and how we can help those animals out.

This is something that is a big passion for me, it’s a lifestyle that I lead, that I guide my life by.

What is something that you are passionate about?

Comment below!

3 thoughts on “Strong Feelings

Leave a Reply

